So Many Paths

So Many Paths

I’m standing at a fork in the road right now when it comes to my writing. My novel, “Sparrowhawk”, now about to enter its third draft, is a fantasy. I loved fantasy for many years, and even after meeting Jesus and slowly stepping away from stories about witchcraft, I still love the likes of “The Lord of the Rings” and, especially, the beautiful, meaningful “The Chronicles of Narnia.”
But is it possible for me to write “Sparrowhawk” into a Christian fantasy as laudable and pure as “The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe”? Or should I step back from it for now, until I know better, and write something simpler – a real-life fiction about horses?
I don’t know which path to take. But I know I want to pick the straight and narrow path that leads straight to my Friend Jesus. And I know I’ve got a great heart beating between my knees to take me there.
Somehow the world always looks better when seen between the ears of a horse.

Leave a Reply

