Created Unique

   Six odd, unique or exciting things about me? Well, it’s hard to remember that there are odd, unique or exciting things about me since I got this chemical imbalance in my head that gives me symptoms of depression. Upside, I finally learn to take pills. (Seriously. Who else has a pill-swallowing phobia? Don’t all shout at once). Downside, I blog less. If my humour is a bit off and I seem unnaturally cheerful for the next while, forgive me, readers. My head is just a bit more messed up than usual, but by clinging onto my God with everything I have… I’ll make it through this.

Let’s give it a shot, then. In no particular order, six random things about me:

Greyhound racing Français : Lévrier durant une...

I thought I looked something like this. Wishful, huh? (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

1. When I was three years old, I was convinced that I was of the canine species. Totally true story. It lasted for years and years. I knew, of course, that most dogs do not come equipped with opposable thumbs and the ability to spend extended periods of time on their hindlegs (not that I spent very much time on my hindlegs). I was just in disguise, of course. I barked in public. I ran around on all fours so much that I wore out the knees of my pyjamas in mere weeks. Thankfully, I eventually got over it, but it was a rather strange phase, even for me.

Horse and Jockey Tumble

Ouch. I know how that feels (Photo credit: Paolo Camera)

2. I’ve fallen off horses more times than I have toes, and the horse I fell off the most I love the most. Yep, Skye only sends you flying if you’re really asking for it. In the first few years, I guess I really asked for it. She still spins out from under me every now and then just for the satisfaction of taking me down a few pegs, but I’ve gotten the hang of falling on my feet.

3. I am addicted to sunrises, sunsets, clouds, and stars. I don’t know the first thing about weather or constellations, but few things give me as much quiet pleasure, or remind me as powerfully of God, as the sky in all its moods and colours.

The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch ...

The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

4. I really, really love three kinds of movies: children’s animation, sweeping medieval epics, and shamelessly sentimental tear-jerkers. I love Despicable Me, How to Train Your Dragon, and Tangled. I adore The Chronicles of Narnia (all three). As for Soul Surfer, Letters to God and Marley & Me… I made a passable recreation of the Flood, albeit rather salty.

5. I think Oscar Wilde and Charles Dickens are funnier than most contemporary writers. Have you read The Importance of Being Earnest? Addled brain or no, I found it hilarious.

6. I read too many blogs. Check out the blogroll. I seem to have some weird attraction to the “Follow” button. Yet I wouldn’t unfollow any if you paid me. And those are just the WordPress blog – you haven’t seen SprinklerBandits, I Will Jump Sweet Jumps or A Teen’s Dressage Dream yet.

There you go – just six of the many facets of my wacky personality. And you know what? There is nobody else in the whole entire world who would answer this prompt just like I would. There is no other Firn Hyde in the world. Not because of evolution or mere chance or reptiles coming out of the sea or any of that stuff.

I’m special because I was created. I was made by Hand. I was made to be Firn C. Hyde, a petite female with insanely long hair who loves horses and chocolate and hates Barbie and Toddlers and Tiaras. God made me, and He knew exactly what He was doing. And when I say that to the green-eyed, slightly pimpled face in the mirror every morning – “Jesus made you down to the last atom, by Hand; and He never makes any mistakes” – then I know it’s true.

It’s true for me, and it’s true for you. OK, so you pick your nose or bite your nails or have a

Creation of Adam, hands in detail

Creation of Adam, hands in detail (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

secret phobia of filing cabinets. Jesus made you because He wanted somebody just like you to exist. Sure, you’ve sinned and fallen short, but all you have to do is turn to Him to become the person He made you to be – the authentic, real, created you.

You’re a precious creation. Don’t forget that.

 

Oh, and aren’t you proud? I didn’t make poor imaginary Sir Flann answer the Daily Prompt this time. He’s been exhausted by the trauma of being blogged about and has retired to a quiet corner of my mind to polish his armour and hide from the media. It’s a hard life, being a hero.

12 thoughts on “Created Unique

  1. Pingback: Normal? Common? Typical? NOT ME!! | Melanie Ryding – Ryding2Health BLOG

    • Adorable, isn’t it? I think Gru is a fantastic antihero. As for Vector… well, who doesn’t love a spotty teenage nerd villain with glasses and an obsession for weapons involving fish? “Squid launcher! Oh yeah!”

      • Yeah…. Gru melted my heart a time or two. And the squid launcher did indeed rock! Did you hear they are coming out with another Despicable me part 2?

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Far From Normal – Hell, I Ain’t Got Time to Bleed or be Normal! | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  3. Pingback: I’m As Unique As The Next Guy | The Jittery Goat

  4. Pingback: Normalacy is Relative « A Short A Day

  5. Not only are you unique, but you are “fearfully and wonderfully made.” and I consider it an honour to be one of your ‘blogees’. I must say, I have never fallen off a horse. Mind you, I’ve only ever ridden about a dozen times in 65 years 🙂 I also love How to train your Dragon, Tangled, Narnia and…and… oh yes, and Brave. LOL tear-jerkers are the perfect movie for watching with a friend you’ve been friends with for 36 years.

    • Lyn, I liked Brave, too. I think Merida’s big black horse, Angus, was the best animated horse I have ever seen. He moved, sounded and behaved like a horse, and they even got the breed characteristics right – a big, goofy, good-natured Clydesdale.
      Unfortunately, I haven’t had the experience of watching a tear-jerker with someone I’ve been friends with for 36 years. Even if I had been friends with someone all my life, I’d still be about 20 years short. 😛

  6. Pingback: DROWN INSIDE ME « hastywords

  7. How can one manage to get along without Jesus. we are so weak, defeated, incapable of finding our way out on our own.. And as the horizon darkens and becomes more and more threatening in this world, the disciple of Jesus learns to turn his eyes to the eternal goal, to the heavenly kingdom to which he has been called. 🙂

    PS. 27: Wait on the Lord: be of good courage, and He shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the Lord. 🙂

    Ps. 131 Lord, my heart is not proud, nor mine eyes lofty: neither do I exercise myself in great matters, or in things too high for me. Surely I have calmed and quieted my soul, as a child that is weaned of his mother: my soul is even as a weaned child. … hope in the Lord from henceforth and for ever

Leave a Reply

