My King Will Come

Landscape1

My King will come

perhaps on cobblestone clouds at sunrise

beautiful

paved with lines of golden light

O, what a most glorious sight

to see my King when He comes

My King will come

perhaps on great nimbuses that charge like warhorses

fearless

white whales breaching across an endless sky

O, up will go a loud and joyous cry

from my King’s people when He comes

My King will come

perhaps on mare’s tails flicking friskily

graceful

wonderfully weightless through the air

O, and I believe that I would dare

to go running to my King when He comes

My King will come

perhaps on a bellowing thunderstorm

magnificent

walking across the hills on legs of lightning

O, and He will be great and frightening

when in His might He comes

My King will come

perhaps on a cloud small as a man’s hand

unexpected

rising up like an iceberg tip out of the sea

O, and I know that He is coming for me

when with His love He comes

My King will come

but I know not what cloud will bear Him

I trust

that I will be gathered in His loving arms then

O! I know neither how nor where nor when

but I know that my King will come

One thought on “My King Will Come

Leave a Reply

